[UPDATED: September 28, 2017]
Tennessee approved a new law designed to reduce the number of uninsured drivers in the state. The new law will took effect on July 1, 2015, but some changes didn’t take place until after 2016 and later. Here’s what you need to know about the changes:
- The Fine – Effective July 1, 2015, the fine for being an uninsured driver increased from $100 to $300 (it’s a Class A Misdemeanor).
- Towing – After January 1, 2016, police officers can now tow your vehicle immediately if you don’t have proof of insurance.
- New Insurance Verification Program – Before January 1, 2017, Tennessee had the ability to possibly implement a new online insurance verification program to track down uninsured drivers through their vehicle registrations.
- Tag Renewal – You can no longer renew your tags if the new verification system shows that the vehicle is uninsured until you provide proof of insurance and you may be subject to reinstatement fees.
- Other Penalties – Drivers found to be uninsured through the new verification system will face harsh penalties including up to $125 in coverage failure fees and suspension or revocation of the owner’s vehicle registration.
Thankfully, drivers who have and keep their auto insurance through Direct Auto & Life Insurance meet the state’s minimum coverage requirements. But having proof of that coverage at all times will be important. Remember to keep your proof of insurance card in your car and, if you’re a Direct policyholder, be sure to download the DirectDrive® app so you always have digital access to your insurance ID.
Insurance is underwritten or administered by members of the Direct General Group, Nashville, TN. Cost may vary based on how you buy.